The Rocketeer - My 3D printed Rocketpack and Helmet

Longshot114

Warning . . . Very Picture Heavy.

So I've been working on a project for the last 2 months. Most of it was spent modeling. I tend to go a bit overboard when it comes time for Halloween. I've tried a lot of different techniques to build different costumes. I am by no means an expert or a master at this. I am able to tell you that with each costume I learn a lot . . . Bondo, Mechatronics, Servos, Control Boards, Sewing, Working with Foam, Glues/Chemistry, Different Power Systems, and most important . . .patience.

With the newly acquired, quite awesome SeeMeCNC's Rostock Max . . . I wanted to see if I could build a costume/prop using 3D printing. Why not . . . how hard could it be? I was wrong. So with only 2 months left till all Hallow's Eve I set to work. As a quick note, most of the build is 3D printed . . . not all of it, but most of it.

Most of the time i spent modeling up the Rocketpack and Helmet. I'm not an expert at Solidworks, but did learn a lot from shaping, 3D curves, lofting, etc.

On to the printing . . . I had to cut the helmet into 4 sections and will glue the pieces on later due to build envelope of the printer. The first problem I ran into was scale. The helmet ended up 2x to big. Kinda made me look like a bobble head. Some of the pieces took between 12-16 hours. So you can imagine my dismay when I printed only to find the wrong size. I rescaled and ended up in the other direction, too small. Again wasted plastic and a lot of time. Finally found a scale that worked.

Once the pieces were printed i had figure out a way to glue. Again, a lesson learned, PLA doesn't like to glue with traditional types of glue like the favorited Superglue. I dug around the internet and almost gave up on the whole project till I found some Acrylic Glue that someone only had some great luck with gluing PLA objects. Turns out he was correct, the stuff works.