Terminator skull covered with skin, looking for suggestions

dropshipbob

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I have a 1:1 Terminator endoskull and I've been kicking around the idea of turning it into a bust complete with damaged skin, hair and partial clothes. I've never done anything like that before and I'm wondering if anyone with experience can give me some tips/tricks. I had thought about covering it with sculpey...perhaps mixing two colors together to get a natural skin-like tone, but it would have to be baked, and the skull is made out of resin that's only a few millimeters thick, so it might melt. Is there a better way of doing this? And I'd like to add a tiny bit of hair, not sure how to incorporate that if using sculpey.

I've only got the one skull, so if anyone has some suggestions, I'd really like to NOT screw this up if possible. :)

How damaged is the skin you´re after?. Latex can make good wounds, rotten or burnt skin etc. And the good thing is that you can peel it off if you don´t like it or if you get tired of it with no major damage (could bring off some paint depending on how good or old the paint finish of the skull is).
Another route could be sculpting, molding and attaching with latex or silicone.

I'd say probably 50% of the face would be "damaged", if nothing else than to save me from having to do too much hair work. I'd rather stay away from latex/silicone as that would call for me to sculpt all of that on the skull, mold the whole thing and cast it in the appropriate material...which is way more work than I want to do and greatly outside of my skill set.

I would be reluctant to suggest sculpey in your situation, as sculpey does shrink a little when firing...I think about 2-5%. What about a papier mache material...that is what all the wonderful mask-makers (like from Italy) use, and that is air dried.