Printing this Flying Saucer

DarkHelmet

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Was wondering if anyone can look into this flying saucer site and give me some insight on what to do to print that retro flying saucer? Can it be commissioned by someone with a printer? Would you need a special/industrial printer?

I have ZERO knowledge on 3D printing.

Thank you !

This could be printed on pretty much any printer. It might need scaling to fit the printer though. You'll need to pull a canopy or find a source for it.

It can be printed at a commission, but after the quarantine you may be able to look up a maker space. They should have something you could use at a nominal fee as well as someone to help guide you through the process.

It'll take some post-processing, but that's the fun part.

If you want a large scale saucer then a FDM printer can do it, but you might have to sand the printlines to get a clean result for painting, for a smaller scale somebody with a resin printer can print it in segments, this gives a smooth surface and higher detail, and you would only have to bond the segments.

Because the cockpit dome might me the most problematic, I would source one first and scale the 3D files to that size.
these might work.

I'd print it for ya, but I am in Sweden so it makes little sense. In case you can't find anyone here or close by to do it for you I recommend heading over to r/3Dprintmything which is subreddit for people that offer their services and for people like you who want something printed.

If you print something like this at cost (yourself or at some library that offers it) it would be a nominal fee for materials as a kg of PLA isn't more than $20 and I doubt you'd need that much. The cost of having someone else print it is equivalent to tooling costs and upkeep + time. I guess you'd have to shop around?