My Back to the future 2 Hoverboard

agredfearn

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and just wanted to get some feedback on my latest project, the bttf2 hoverboard.
Here is a link to some pictures of current progress and some below.

a.JPGb.JPGc.JPG

As you can see it is currently unfinished, I have really struggled to get the metal discs made as Ideally I want them to be lathed from an aluminium disc (the thing is heavy!)
I'm really pleased with the plastic hardware on the base, I drew up the CAD files myself from these drawings and printed them on an ultimaker 2. If anyone is interested in the stl files I will put them up on thingiverse.

Current plan for the discs is to cut and lathe them from a thick grey plastic sheet (19.5mm thick), them paint to give metallic effect.

Any feedback is welcomed, I'm just getting into this prop replica business!

Andrew

Last edited:
Nice work on that board. There is more you can do though if you want.

The Mattel hoverboard is so collectible, no one does anything with it. Another company Halloween Costumes (HC) basically cloned the board and sells it for $50.

It is inexpensive enough and not collectible-grade. So people tore into it to mod it. You might want to check out the topic on that board for tips and tricks.

http://www.therpf.com/showthread.php?t=233414&

very nice job on the board! i think your the first one to machine hover magnets?! please keep us posted on your magnet fabrication

Hello! Update!

The board is finished(ish), here are a couple of beauty pics:

A.JPGB.JPG

Closer up pics are here.

So to get the discs done I came up with a design I knew I could pull off with the tools at hand. This diagram helps:

Cross section of disc.jpg