First Sculpt Ever, Custom Predator

SalaciousR

So this is my first try at sculpting anything! I welcome all and any info from ya'll! I haven't had a lot of time to read up on the best practices, but part of the fun is messing it up all on your own!

Hopefully I will have some time to read more on methods, part of my problem is that I'm new to all this but it's still fun!

I did this work in just over 6 hours and used an oil based non-sulfur clay.

It's a little smaller than I was planning, but it is all good practice!

The teeth are only there for a referance point while I was sculpting, I plan on sculpting those out once I get more clay in the mail

Thanks for looking, and thanks in advance for any guidance ya'll can offer

-Salacious R

Predator3.JPG

predator4.JPG

Predator.JPG

Predator2.JPG

Thanks! Looking at the other member's work, I see that I have some work to do!

It looks like I should bring the sides in, raise the ridge, work on the lower jaw, and find a better way to sculpt the back of the head to allow for the dreads to be connected!

Thanks again for having a place to figure this all out!

Looks like a good start, love the different take on the Predator. Great strong lines in the head shape. Whats the idea you have for this character, Young blood, Elder, Rogue??.
Will watch the progress on this.

dont know if it will help or hurt but,....i always had an easier time just blocking in shapes and making sure the proportions and symmetry are all good
BEFORE i start detailing and chopping,......not at all saying it's the right way ,......just seems easier ,.......sucks to go hacking at it once you have detail you're happy with but one things off so you have to totally re-work a section ,.........saves headaches and aggrivation ,......mate
looks awesome so far man,......keep slingin