Creating a baby Metroid in a tank

Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

Nightfalcon4

Hey everyone,

I'm new here and had some ideas I needed help planning for. I work as a repair technician for game consoles at a local game store. I want to create some personal pieces I could display and something I really want to make is the Baby Metroid from the Metroid series in it's tank. But I also want to make that tank a hidden frontloading NES or SNES (or both?) I have big dreams for this project. Like wanting to make the baby chew on an original Metroid cartridge for NES or a Metroid II cartridge for the gameboy.

I want to tackle the tank first, that will house the baby metroid and the game system(s), but I need help finding a large clear acrylic or plastic pipe to act as the middle portion of the tank where you can see the Metroid. The top and bottom, I was planning on making out of something like PVC or custom building them with plasticard(styrene) and bondo. Maybe carving them out first out of something like insulation Styrofoam then coating them in protective layers of plastic or something. I still don't know what to look for when trying to find that clear pipe. I need it to be about 8-12 inch diameter and about 18-24 inches long, preferably a thickness of 1/16-1/8 inches. Any ideas? I plan to post project pictures, though I have a pretty crappy phone as my only camera, but I still would like to show what I can do and possibly inspire others to try it as well.

Thank so much for reading

Don't want to see this ad? Sign up for anRPF Premium Membershiptoday. Support the community. Stop the ads.

Xtafa

A quick search for 'acrylic cylinder' on auction sites brings up plenty of results that match your dimensions. Not too pricey either. I'd like to see the end result.

ataris121