Contact Lenses

Discussion in 'Replica Costumes' started by Studio Stasis, Feb 17, 2006.

1. Studio Stasis

Studio Stasis Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

2. Jayn

Jayn Sr Member

wear goggles...

Jayn

ps-seriously, I work in the haunt industry & have heard all of the stories.. There's no lens that I know of short of white outs, that would give you that look. the "Blind"/ cataract lenses really do blind you.. any chance of a post prod. cg fix?

3. firesprite

firesprite Master Member

Well, you could always go the route of the Miraluka from the old republic days. They are born without eyes and wear short veils or other concealment to keep the fact from wierding 'normal' folks out too badly.

4. Neon Sentry

Neon Sentry Sr Member

Kinda like goggles, but more like tanning bed eye covers without the bands... like little pods surgically attached right over the eye. I've seen a few different designs for items such as those over the years, and it always looks decent

Of course, you could use those nasty, hazy, whitish contacts for close-ups of Blindy McShuteye and go lensless and change your eyes in post for medium and long shots

There are always many more options than meets the eye... no pun intended :D

5. Scapey

Scapey Sr Member

Why not get a piece of cloth, and tie it like a blindfold? If you use the right cloth, and tie it the right way, you should still be able to see, and it'd give a neat look.

Failing that, milky lenses are about your only option. You can get them with varying degrees of tint... You just need to find one that's a fair balance between seeing and looking good.
    Full sclera lenses are gonna be hard to wear ANYWAY. I'd be more inclined to hunt for normal sized lenses with a partial tint.

6. E2K13

E2K13 New Member

Afflecks eyes in Daredevil were a good effect and weren't overly opaque.

7. TimDrakeRobin

TimDrakeRobin Sr Member