best/easiest 3D Modelling software?!

Faraam

Hello everyone I am wondering what 3D software you guys use to make all these great models? Also to add to it if its user friendly?

Sketchup is pretty user friendly, but it does some weeeird things when you export is as an STL file (which you also have to get a plugin for). 123D Design is probably the best suggestion. I'm sure some joker is going to say Blender. Don't listen to them. ;)

-Rog

I use Maya and Zbrush. I'm a professional game artist so I have a lot of experience using those. I have very little, if any, experience using free modeling software options. I believe Maya does still have a student version so you might try that if you're interested.
Maya, 3DS Max, and Zbrush are probably the most common professional modeling softwares. Maya is used for polygonal modeling and Zbrush for sculpting. Zbrush actually has a 3D printing plugin that allows you to export .STL's which is cool, though I don't personally use it. Zbrush is definitely not user friendly; the UI is a nightmare and makes no sense. Maya is quite friendly but there's a lot to learn; you'll find a ton of tutorials for it online though.

I have been using AutoDesk Fusion 360. They offer a free license for students and hobbyists. It is very powerful. They also have a lot of great tutorials and videos online, which I have found to be very helpful.

Side note: It's funny that when these threads come up, a dozen people will all suggest different programs and they all turn out to be made by Autodesk. I'm pretty sure Autodesk makes one million programs, and of those million, ANY seem to be a good choice from what I've seen.

(FYI, 123D Design is an Autodesk product. So that puts the count at 2 so far for this thread. Stay tuned.)

-Rog