Azrael (Arkham City)

therealmccoy

Hi everyone. Long time lurker, first time WIP poster here at the RPF. I've been costuming since 2008 and am part of the notorious Mandalorian Mercs and Georgia Ghostbusters. My costuming alter ego is Lucas McCoy and you can find photos of my other costumes and stuff on my facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/thereallucasmccoy

I've been working on putting together an Azrael costume from Arkham City the past few weeks. Since the Arkham series is grounded in reality, many of the pieces are found off the shelf or with little modification. Most of those I either had already or was able to find with not much effort. He wears some kind of tactical cargo pant, welding gloves, combat boots, and a GI pistol belt. Beyond that, I will be crafting the armor pieces out of sintra (the grey armor parts) or EVA foam(the red armor parts), a material I have not used before and am looking forward to learning.

IMG_1798.JPG

I'm modding an airsoft face mask for his mask, and this weekend my girlfriend and I will be sewing his 'cape' strips, tabard and hood.

My favorite part of the costume is going to be the wrist blade on the left forearm. I've cut the blades out of 6mm sintra and have begun to bevel the edges to appear "sharp", but I'll actually be dremmeling in a shallow trench on the edge to embed an EL wire strip as shown in the photo. The top portion of the gauntlet will actually leave ample room for the battery inverter for the EL wire. =)

IMG_1796.JPGIMG_1797.JPG

The ceremonial red armor parts I am doing out of foam, and have only just begun planning on. I will probably do the blades out of sintra so they are more rigid, but I figured the foam would be good because it is light and honestly I have been wanting to try it out. I got this diagram from a thread here on the forum and I think it's for a pep file but I will probably just design it myself with my own measurements.

IMG_1802.JPG