Sculpting Riddick

CSMacLaren

Sr Member
sculpting-riddick_zpsfbb10248.jpg

Here's a progress photo of something I've been sculpting over the past week over breakfast. I'll drink my coffee and then noodle a bit, then after work noodle a little bit.

This is the first time I've sculpted a full face human likeness. I'm using soft Klean Klay (and have run out). The top of the head looks slightly weird because it's not a full head, and I've been picking off the back to add stuff to the front.

I'm not going with any particular set of screenshots. I'll just Google search "Riddick" and "Vin Diesel" and go from photo to photo, trying different angles. There's still a bit more accurization that needs to take place and I hope I have the skills to get this looking okay. I'm a novice at human likenesses, but it's sooooo nice to work on something other than Vader.

Let me know how I'm doing!

It's a really good start. I can definitely see the likeness. I thought about sculpting a 1/3 scale Riddick... he's on my list. Keep up the great work. You really have something there. :)

Thanks, guys!

IMG_3031_zpsf2e329c7.jpg

IMG_3028_zpsb53c401f.jpg

IMG_3030_zpsf4c30e2d.jpg

IMG_3029_zps9ec64e86.jpg

IMG_3033_zps1a4b0691.jpg

IMG_3032_zps16012436.jpg

Did some additional work to reduce bulk from his head. A lot of my hi-def shots are of more recent films, and actors' heads can change over time (i.e. head and neck can get fatter). But I want to go for the 'Chronicles of Riddick' look and started looking at some video footage.

I also surmised that some shots I was using as references earlier were 20+ feet away, and so wide angle lenses will pick up a great amount of lateral detail.

This is starting to feel right in terms of proportions. Running out of clay but began sculpting the back of the head. I'd like to do the neck and maybe a bit of the upper chest.

Made some mods to the face so things look a bit rough again. However, I'm pleased with the proportions and where this is going!