What is the best sculpting clay?

yaris

Sr Member
I'm new to using clay and I just got some cheap ($12 for 2k) air dry clay and I'm using that. It drys nice and hard, but can be reactivate with water. I eventually want to paint it.

Is that the best kind/type of clay to use???

thx in advance

If you're doing a 'one of' figure to finish and paint, you might want to look into Super Sculpey, a clay that can be baked to a nice hardness, carved, sanded added to and baked again - Great stuff, stays pliable 'till you're done. It's a pinkish flesh color that is semi- translucent, so i would recommend adding some Sculpey 3, maybe brown or black to give it a darker color that your eyes can 'read', in other words, you can easily see the surface well, so you can get rid of tool marks and fingerprints when you smooth it out.
There is a bit of a learning curve, but it can be used to make great sculptures. Just don't take it out of the oven right away when you finish baking it......LEAVE it alone for a couple of hours so it doesn't go into thermal shock and crack apart! I learned that the hard way!!!

thx for the advice, but the clays mentioned are like $150 for 2kg.....I got air dry clay for $12.....obviously the expensive ones are better, but why are they better??

thx agian

I use DAS clay. Water based and soluble. It's a children's toy but it's great nonetheless. You can file it, sand it, paint it, machine and turn it (cover the equipment though), recycle it. AND it's dirt cheap in relation to other clay. No baking required.

I use magicsculpt.

It retains its shape and can easily be smoothed off with water. Sets solid like resin!

here is my sculpting using it :-

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    88 KB · Views: 331