First time kit-bashing spaceships

SethS

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Long story short... I'm an on-strike writer, using my free time to develop some of y own ideas, planning to shoot a sci-fi short. There's some space ships in it, and in talking with my team I realized I don't know anyone who does CG, (that isn't expensive and super pro) and had no idea what it might cost. After watching some YouTube videos I realized that what I DO know with after effects might make it fun and easier to just to practical models, so long as I get a DP that knows how to shoot them.

I've always wanted to kit bash some spaceships together so this seemed like the time. I'm crafty, I've built a few dozen lightsabers and blasters, so I feel like I can do this following the popular tyrone "panelizing/greeblie" method. That said, I also know that no straight-edge can truly help me cut a straight lines and I I am a little numbers dyslexic. To that, I decided that instead of building something from scratch I def want to repurpose something.

I decided to start with this old Batplane my kid nabbed at a yard sale a decade ago.

IMG_5531.JPG

Bonus points if you know what toy line this is actually a re-use from.

For donor parts, I have a couple Macross Valkyrie fight kits, some Russian Mig weapons packs, and some rabid ship model. I have most of these from when I wanted greenflies for custom blasters. So I set the thing out with pots and stared at it for a few days.
IMG_5536.JPG
IMG_5553.JPG