X-Wing pilot flight / MOTORCYCLE Jacket

SilentNumsy

Hello RPF,

I've ridden a Harley for years but have been a SW fan for even longer.

Here's a picture of my Fatboy and the helmets that I customized and wear. When I started using my X-Wing pilot helmet I wanted a flight jacket to go with it. I'm an Industrial Designer / DIYer / amateur tailor, so I decided to make a motorcycle jacket for myself.

I usually wear a "Carhartt Duck Detroit" jacket or a MA-1 Bomber jacket when I ride so I knew my orange X-Wing Flight Jacket was not going to be screen accurate, but a combination of my favorite features of all three jackets. To break it down my jacket is 60% X-Wing flight jacket, 30% Carhartt jacket, 10% MA-1 Bomber jacket.

This is my first time posting on RPF so please forgive me if I make any format or protocol errors or mistakes.

Charlie

Pict 2: After many hours of thought and looking at reference photos I figured out how to make the "arm scallops"
Pict 3: I drew patterns on tracing paper based on my Carhartt jacket (size 40) and picts of Luke in his ESB flight jacket
Pict 4: I first made a prototype out of some light weight white fabric I had on hand. This took me about a week during Thanksgiving time.
Pict 5: Skipping ahead to heavy weight canvas fabric for outer layer with layers of felt quilted together with a soft inner lining. I want my jacket to keep me warm.
Pict 6: Installing the zipper
Pict 7: My messy work/dinning room area
Pict 8: All zipped up
Pict 9: Punching hole for Heavy Duty button on sleeve
Pict 10: Button installed
Pict 11: Finished! It took me about two weeks
Pict 12: Lots of room for my arm to reach handle bars.
Pict 13: Lots of pockets both inside and outside.
Pict 14: Scotch Guarding to protect against moister and bug guts

Attachments

• L&R2.jpg
    L&R2.jpg
    389.5 KB · Views: 384
  • LJMjacket1.JPG
    LJMjacket1.JPG
    288.6 KB · Views: 295
  • LJMjacket2.jpeg
    LJMjacket2.jpeg
    908.4 KB · Views: 291
  • LJMjacket3.jpg