63 inch BSG Viper

Rick H

This is my first time at a large scale scratch build. Some cockpit photos of the rough fit. I am building it as components so that I can access all areas for electronics and lighting.
DSC03994.jpg

DSC03986.jpg

DSC03984.jpg

Thanks for looking.

Last edited:
Mate you got my attention!!63"!! Will defy make a great display.. Sounds like a fun project!

If you can please show pics of how to cut the pieces and put them together!! It is very inspiring and maybe folks like me can learn a few things :)

Thanks for sharing...!

Thanks all for those that have looked and posted. Yesterday was a quick post to see if there would be any interest in this project. I normally don’t post my builds because I don’t feel there up to the standards of the Master builders here.

Some additional information. I chose 63 inches because I was trying to get as close to a 5 foot finished model as I could. This is so I can add the controllers and servos I plan on using. I am using a 2 ¼ inch per foot scale. This is the MKII Viper using a mix from both the old and new series. My plans are to have it look as though it would work in the real world. (May be a bad description on my part). I will be using a small photo display screen as the cockpit display screen. A lighting kit for the exterior and interior lighting and for engines.

As for my tools. I am using home shop tools. Drill press, table saw etc.

From the reading I have done, it seems that the viper is capable of both space and atmospheric flight. So it seems that operational flight surfaces are a must. Rudder, flaps etc. I also plan to add an air/smoke system for the thrusters.

Some may be rolling there eyes about now, thinking yea right, another over ambitious builder. But since I am semi-retired, and have a back ground with RC aircraft and air powered controllers I do believe this is a project that is well within my skill set. Of course I have been wrong before.