Padding a Batman cowl to fit

disasterology

Jr Member
Does anyone have a link to a resource (perhaps another thread) or could detail advice on padding out a Batman cowl in order to make it fit perfectly? I don't have my cowl yet, but based on the measurements of my head, I may have to pad it out a little in order to get it to fit and look right. I wanted to study information now so I know what I am supposed to do when the time comes. I did a search, but the only thing I found was the use of a balaclava to fill out a cowl some, not sure if this is always how it's done or are there other better methods? I'm an absolute novice at this stuff. Also, I'm relatively new here, so I would appreciate any help, thanks!

Simply pick up a square piece of foam from Joanns or Walmart or another store like it. Cut a square out and add it to the back of the cowl. I add one to e top as well on the tdk to make the chin fit me better.
Oh an use use superglue to secure the foam. I actually do Velcro on the foam and the back of the cowl so I can adjust it to fit better.

Simply pick up a square piece of foam from Joanns or Walmart or another store like it. Cut a square out and add it to the back of the cowl. I add one to e top as well on the tdk to make the chin fit me better.
Oh an use use superglue to secure the foam. I actually do Velcro on the foam and the back of the cowl so I can adjust it to fit better.
Sounds great, but I was hoping to forego any superglue or anything permanent in case I had to adjust or if I made a mistake. Could I use some type of restickable velcro as an option? Do you have any suggestions?

- - - Updated - - -

What size head do you have? Some cowl makers offer different cowl sizes. I've used bicycle helmet foam on cowls before, and it works great.
I got a measurement of 22" for my head and the cowl I ordered accommodates up to a 24" head. So I'm guessing I'll have to do at least some padding of some sort.