Buildin' a space gun (yet another mal's gun build)

Iananan

Hey internet,

Been lurking for ages, but thought I'd share my progress on the Moses Brothers Self-Defense Engine Frontier Model B, I've been building around a crappy plastic revolver I bought off ebay.

here's a full (hopefully in order) album of what I've done, but most of it is incremental and probably super boring.

here's how it's looking, fleshed out so far.

bhJDxPh.jpg

dHpY3W9.jpg

with and without stand in barrel.

the greeblies on the outside aren't attached yet, and everything I've done needs a heckuva lot of refining. and most of this I'm making up as I go along, process wise, as this is my first build of this kind.

All styrene and apoxie sculpt on top of a massacred toy revolver

what do you all think?

also, anyone got any idea how to get the barrel made? that's been haunting me through the whole build so far.

Last edited:
the closest I've figured out from screenshots and vague measurements of the base gun (the taurus 85 that the original gun was built around) it wants to be about 17mm wide, but it's the octagonal nature that's confounding me.

it also wants to be 100mm long to give it enough of a mounting point inside the body of the gun.

Here's your barrel. Verify your measurements/details and I'll tweek it accordingly. :cheers

Then I can send it to shapeways so you can order one if you would like.
I don't know a cost without submitting a file.

malcolmbarrel_zps7b1210a3.jpg

18mm wide, and 132mm long, and eyeballing from some front-on shots, and doing a little mockup in illustrator alongside my profile view, looks like 11mm diameter barrel inside.

I accepted when I started it that this build wasn't going to be screen accurate, but as close as I can get it, as long as I learn stuff along the way

also, I want it to fit my hand nicely, so that's been a factor in the scaling too.