WIP Groot Mask - Guardians of the Galaxy vol 1

ChristianNZ

After seeing the amazing Groot costume put together by Calen Hoffman, I felt inspired to give it a go. I have never done anything like this before. So I sketched out a template from what I had seen of Calens' and then drew it up in CorelDraw, scaled it to size and printed it, and transferred it onto some EVA foam sheets I had, and cut it out using an xacto blade. I then tried it out for size against my head, and of course, it was too small, (or my head is too big), this is where I point out, that had I been smart, I would have tried the paper template on for size, but, I didn't, so I needed to add a little spacer in the back to enlarge it slightly. I used Ados F2 (which is a contact adhesive, I'm guessing it's like barge cement, but being in NZ we don't have barge). Once the glue had set, I pushed the pieces together and ended up with a nice little blank mask.

Now comes the fun part. I sketched onto the foam where I wanted to cut using a pencil, I just pushed hard and it left nice little track lines I could follow later with my Dremel. Out to the garage and on with a face mask, and ear protection, and putting one of the orange grinding stones that came with my set into the wand head. I had experimented earlier and found that so long as I'm gentle I get a nice line with the orange stone bit, and I tend to take a little too much out with the sanding bits. A tip I picked up from watching EvilFX is that if you run the bit in the direction the bit is spinning you get a nice soft cut, as opposed to a deeper cut when pulling against the spin (this is great for removing more material or if you're in a hurry) So, now we're about up to when I thought why don't I take some photos.

IMG_4527.JPGIMG_4528.JPGIMG_4529.JPG