Usage of Ripped Video Game Models?

Chris Moliere

I'm currently using a set of FNAF VR: Help Wanted models (along with some fanmade ones) to make STLs for accurate 3d printed and/or foam costumes. I am considering posting these models on Thingiverse, some foam templates on this forum, or maybe selling some costume kits. Would there be any problems with me doing this (Usage rights, approval from original model creators, etc.)?

I'm no legal expert but I'm pretty sure that selling templates pulled from game models would be a serious no no as far as copyrights are concerned. You could use them for your own use but to put them up on somewhere like Thingiverse and offer them for sale would almost certainly get you (at the least) a C&D from the game publishers if they found out. If you put in the description that the templates were derived from in game models Thingiverse themselves might even allow you to put them up for sale in order to avoid any potential from the game's/games' publisher(s).

I'm no legal expert but I'm pretty sure that selling templates pulled from game models would be a serious no no as far as copyrights are concerned. You could use them for your own use but to put them up on somewhere like Thingiverse and offer them for sale would almost certainly get you (at the least) a C&D from the game publishers if they found out. If you put in the description that the templates were derived from in game models Thingiverse themselves might even allow you to put them up for sale in order to avoid any potential from the game's/games' publisher(s).
Thanks for the quick response! I think posting templates on the forum (for free) would be a bit easier and more accessible for people.