Unidentified Rocketeer statue (pic heavy)

Dak

Hey guys, I could use your help. Today I found a Rocketeer statue at my local antiques store. I have no idea who the maker is, or exactly how old. There are no maker's marks on it at all. Judging by the thick layer of dust and cobwebs and the chipped paint, I'd put it at 15-20 years old. It stands about 12-14" high, is made of a very light cast resin, and is very obviously hand painted. It is glued down to a cheap wooden stand. The statue also includes a cast resin helmet with thin black film for the lenses. Unfortunately, it doesn't fit on the statue's head.

I've been collecting Rocketeer memorabilia for a few years now, and I've never come upon anything like this in my searches. Was it a model kit? An unproduced statue prototype? A production maquette? The owners of the antiques shop had no idea what it was; it was actually labeled as "Buck Rogers". The piece is priced at $150. I'm most likely going back tomorrow to grab it, hopefully for a bit less. I'd appreciate anyone's thoughts on the statue's possible origins.

Larger sized images, as well as a few pics of the statue in its case, can be found here: Flickr: Dak_4206's Photostream

8543494694_9e5462d455_b.jpg

8543494186_1ec09ac2db_b.jpg

8542393595_fa4a79a9bf_b.jpg

8543491934_37345b7b17_b.jpg

8543492354_375fe19286_b.jpg

8543491532_71bc28e938_b.jpg

8542391977_6c564c0dd7_b.jpg

8543493782_47c28ab60b_b.jpg

8543493436_1d6a76416e_b.jpg

I think that's a buildup of the Screamin' model kit? I seem to remember it was the only piece of licensed gear that bore Billy Campbell's likeness at the time...

I'd say it was the Screamin' kit too. It has the big heels and the wraparound barrel tip/sight that the Screamin' kit has.