Tactical Batman

Whit

Greeting all. I just started my next project.....Batman.

This is my first project with foam and my second as an RPF member, so we will see how this comes together. I am taking a but different approach on Batman....I'm going to be making my costume look a bit more like a SWAT team suit. I have a couple drawings of my upper body armor done and have started on the base for that.

I'm looking to get some tactical boots and some pants that I could add foam armor to.

Not to worry, I will still have a cape and gauntlets and a cowl, but I am hoping that the cowl can be a bit more helmet like with white eyes.

I haven't fully decided on everything yet, so your comments and suggestions are welcome.

I'll be posting a couple of images soon.

Here are the first two images.

Body Armor base:
BatVest.jpg

Donor for Grapple Gun:
BatGrapple.jpg

Still have to figure out how to enlarge the images. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Small Update.

I have modified the body armor base and have cut out the Bat and two of the cladding pieces. I will need to cut down the Bat slightly to fit the new shape of the vest. I may use a dremmel to add chamfers to the edges of each cladding piece to give it some more depth.

The rest of the front and the back will have cladding as well. I will eventually glue everything down and join the front and back together by the shoulders. I will attach side release buckle clips on the sides to hold the entire vest together.

Any suggestions on how to clean up rougher edges? Sanding? Dremmel? I'm trying to keep my blades sharp, but I still need to clean up some of the edges.

Body Armor by J_Whit, on Flickr

This sounds like an awesome project, gonna keep tabs on this, also have you thought of using a Swat style helmet and adapting that?
EbairSoft Airsoft parts & Tactical Gear - G SWAT PASGT Kevlar M88 Helmet Black HMS00015
Fairly cheap helmets but can be adjusted easily, also NVG could be a bruceman thing to do.