Strengthening insulation foam to self support

Epicurennerd

So I am creating a large ring prop, I will be bending pic pipe into a circle and then using about 7 inches of insulation foam around that and glued to the pic pipe. There will probably be about 5 inches hanging without pic support. While I will be glueing multiple sheets together to strengthen it slightly I am worried about the blade edges as well as need something fairly cheap and easy to work with to seal the foam before painting. Someone recommended using super glaze or enviroTex Lite since they are epoxy resins. My question is will they help to support the foam as well as make it less likely for the foam to dent and ding? Should I encase the paint job in between coats of the resin or can I use a regular clear coat on top of my paint like I normally do?

I am normally a 3d print guy and I have some experience with EVA foam, but this is the first time I plan to use the blue/pink insulation foam from the hard ware store. Any hints, tricks, or videos are appreciated. Attached is an image of the prop to give it a bit of reference for my probably poor description.

Attachments

• IMG_0024 2.jpeg
    IMG_0024 2.jpeg
    398.5 KB · Views: 100