Painting Tips

Wingsta96

Ok so I have been reading this wonderful forum for a while as I am very new to the modeling world (although long time Star Wars fan). I have purchased the De Agostini Millennium Falcon but before I start putting it together and have to repaint I need to find more info on weathering techniques for Star Wars models.

I have looked up info on Acrylic wash techniques and dry brushing but I'm not sure on what's the best way and there isn't alot of videos I have found being able to watch people weather Star Wars props. I bought a cheap Jedi remote, Thermal Detonator, Revell AT-AT Walker and a 31inch Hasbro X-wing which I would like to practice on first.

I have the red, light grey squares and off white base sprayed for the Jedi Remote as example but I'm not sure the best way to weather the remote with the rust spots and a black wash for overall weathering on the whole prop. Same for the AT-AT, X-Wing and so forth. If anyone can share some tips or can point me to some videos on the best ways to weather for Star Wars models I would be forever grateful.

Last edited:
The first thing to keep in mind is there isn't necessarily a "best" technique for everything. As modelers, we each come up with our own individual take on traditional techniques to do what we need. What works for one modeler may not work for others as it can depend on the supplies available. That being said, washes and drybrushing are pretty close to universal. My advice for doing them is to practice, practice, practice. A cheap Star Wars model with a lot of surface relief is a good place to start, something with a nice combination of recesses and raised areas. Just don't spend too much as it is intended to be a practice model. So if it doesn't turn out right, you aren't out a lot of money.