My Life-Size Han Solo In Carbonite Project - 2nd Attempt

azheat01

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
My Lifesize 1:1 Han Solo In Carbonite Project - 2nd Attempt

I am starting up my second attempt at a life-sized Han Solo in Carbonite. My first attempt came out OK and cost around $350.00. But since I have some more detailed pieces, an increased budget, and a bit more experience, I am hoping this one will be nicer and more authentic. Here is what the first one looked like, mostly built from scratch.

On this new project I will am using a front panel cast made out of rubber instead of piecing it together like my first attempt. I also have a set of VashDStampede's side panels which I have probably been holding onto for over a year. These are the best panels I have seen. Also have a set of panel greeblies to add.

I am a beginner when it comes to this, but been toying around with props for a couple years now.

Here is the front panel.

1.JPG

2.JPG

Bought my lumber and started mocking this up.

HPIM5536.JPG

Last edited:
Finished up the box and rough cut the holes for the panels. I still have the holes to do at the base and the top, then I want to seal this and get working on the front panel.

I also rounded the outside edges and will do the same to the inner edges around the front panel.

HPIM5566.JPG

HPIM5544.JPG

HPIM5561.JPG

HPIM5563.JPG

HPIM5541.JPG

Last edited:
I cut out the details on the top and bottom of the case. I don't know the exact sizes, so I improvised. You wont really see these anyway when I mount this to the wall.

HPIM5585.JPG

I used 1/2" MDF for the panel backing. It was cheap and has a nice smooth surface. I also put a few coats of sealer on the wood.

HPIM5587.JPG