My attempt at a 1/6 Superman figure

Chrisisall

Sr Member
For like forever I've wanted a good 1/6 Chris Reeve Superman figure. Hot Toys came out with a nice toy a while ago, but before it was released I realized that I didn't want to go into debt to get something so, well, toy-like (the true Reeve likeness just isn't there for me).
superman-the-movie---superman--christopher-reeve--12--figure---hot-toys-sideshow-mms152-p-imag...jpg

I recently finished a Horizon vinyl 1/6 Robocop 3 (not an easy kit to customize to the desired look),
20230309_162918.jpg

and that gave me the guts to go for the brass ring. I also found a dude in Canada that 3D prints replacement heads for toys, and his 1/6 Reeve head is stunning. THAT made me decide to do it, since I don't have to worry on getting the face right. Caped Wonder has some excellent reference images that I'm studying for the body that I intend to fabricate from epoxy putty, Super Sculpey, or a combination of both. I bought aluminum wire for an armature, and when the head arrives (estimate says the 28th) I'll do some drawings in scale to it and begin with the wire, and aluminum foil, then build upon that.
I have experience making phasers and spaceships and such, but this will be my first dive into doing a full human form from scratch.
Suggestion and/or tips welcome. Hopefully it will be interesting to watch me either succeed or make a fool of myself.
s-l1600.png
CW-STM-city-hall-pose.jpg
c1669dc74743f4b49ad95ef5550ee452--superman-symbol-superman-movies.jpg

Got the head today, I was surprised that it needs no sanding at all! Looks to be same scale as my Robocop.
Based on this head which is 1 & 3/4 inches, this body will be nearly 12 & 1/2 inches tall. Compared to my Robocop which is 12 & 1/4" tall.
20230726_170825.jpg
20230726_170850.jpg
20230726_191846.jpg

Last edited:
Chris,