Mario Block Box - Complete!

VitaminZinc

I made this as a present for someone this year for Christmas. Came up with the idea of making a Mario Block to store things in.

First thing I did was make a box. It's made from corner trim from a local Lowes because I was short on time and on precision tools, so having some of the work already done was a plus.

The panels of the box are made from styrene, cause I have a ton of it sitting around.

HEng0.jpg

I cut out styrene in the shape I wanted and then took a mold of it, then cast 4 exact copies. The layered effect is just the styrene shape being placed ontop of another piece of styrene. I realized that cutting that much styrene would make me go mad, so hence the casting.

jQYha.jpg

Aaaand then I realized I should have printed out a picture of the box before I started painting and got the colors inverted. So, yeah. Proper colors now.

SgNAm.jpg

The box, all primed up.

WkoBh.jpg

And painted.

rNirn.jpg

And, the final product, drying with a clear coat. Woo.

QqJBE.jpg

The top of the box.
HOAXf.jpg

The painting is a little off on it in places, but I'm happy with how it came out. I've learned a lot about how I'd do things slightly differently next time to make it come out nicer-looking.

very cool. I've been toying with making a small box for a shelf or something. Or a big one to use as an end table or something.

Awesome. Now to build a real life Mario map.

lol, that would be an interesting build. Or, at least an awesome theme to add to a room. Maybe one day when I get approval for that... :lol

1:1 scale :thumbsup

I don't think I can ever get approval for something of that scale, though. =P

very cool. I've been toying with making a small box for a shelf or something. Or a big one to use as an end table or something.

Yeah, this is actually perfect for a shelf. It's about 7", so it can fit pretty well anywhere.

If you hit your head on it, what comes out? Don't eat the purple mushrooms.

oaiqq.jpg