ELO Spaceship Long Term Build - Resource Request

Hostamon

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I'm interested in building an ELO spaceship like the one from the cover of "Out of the Blue." I am not going to use a $2000-3000 Wurlitzer speaker for the skeleton. Instead, I plan on building an idealized ship like on the album cover. I plan to use resources like resin casting, 3D printing, Neon sign tubing and vacuforming. I have no experience in any of these crafts, so I will be outsourcing and learning from scratch.

I plan to build this project over the next 3-4 years.

Any advice or input will be appreciated

it looks like your average saucer UFO build so you should find plans for that externaly I found

ship_full.png ELOWallpaper4.jpg

I did find this its an actual build hope it helps http://rockaria.net/4008/index.html

Interestingly, the ship’s shape and the concentric ribbing makes it look like the base form came from a giant frisbee. I wonder if that was the look they were going for…

Mark

it looks like your average saucer UFO build so you should find plans for that externaly I found

View attachment 567060 View attachment 567061

I did find this its an actual build hope it helps http://rockaria.net/4008/index.html

Gothic,
I found the same pictures through Google. Thanks. The "rockaria" build was based on an original Wurlitzer wall speaker. Those fetch anywhere from $2000-4000 and I want to basically recreate the under-construction look of your first picture.

Interestingly, the ship’s shape and the concentric ribbing makes it look like the base form came from a giant frisbee. I wonder if that was the look they were going for…

Mark

Darth Humorous,
Thanks for the input. I'm going to do a total re-design instead of using found objects. Mostly 3D printed, vacuformed or cast parts is what I'm going for. However, I could cast off of a frisbee...
I was thinking frisbee and styrene

Broilermaker,
Thanks for the input.