Best brand of star wars models & where to buy

yandoo

Hi all I'm new to modeling and want to start up soon building star wars models. I've been having a look around and it seems that Fine Molds is one of the most detailed brands. Can you let me know what you think is the best brand please? I was hoping to go for around 1/48 if possible or secondly 1/72 scale but don't seem to find many models out there, have they been discontinued? Thing is I don't want to start buying them and find I end up having to mix the scales, certainly on similar sized ships. I'd like to start with X-wing and Y-wing but ultimately would like to build up a millennium falcon, tydirium shuttle and star destroyer. From there more imperial fighters and onwards and upwards.. I guess you can tell I'm a bit of a star wars fan. So if anybody could lend me a hand on what brands, where to buy them and common scales that would be great. Thank you

Finemolds. it will help you keep the scales in check, AMT are all over the place, and TBH are for the most part, horrible models.
Right now to keep your scales the same, 1/72 is your calling, as there is no 1/48 Y wing as yet, but it may happen, who knows with Finemolds lol.

lee

Thank you for the replies. I'll go for 1/72 for fighters.. Can i just ask you something quickly please, perhaps I'm getting a little carried away and over excited but I've found a Star Destroyer with optic lights for £80 made my AMT Ertl. Is that worth it for the money?
I'm new to this and don't want to be ripped off on first purchase.
Thanks

The AMT SD is a very poor kit detail wise, as well as shape. It is general looking at best. However, you can cut your teeth on it. I would not spend the extra money on the FO version. You can get a standard kit off ebay for a lot cheaper and add your own lights for a fraction of the cost.