Animatronic Dragon. Pic heavy. FINISHED!!.

familyman

Sr Member
Sorry I know this is not a movie replica or anything, but I just wanted to share with you guys/gals my latest project.
I have never done any animatronics before so this is a learning experience for me.
When I was a kid I loved to build those wooden dinosaur/Dragon/Giant spider kits. You know the ones that just slot together. I use to pretend they would come alive, I think I had around 10 of them.
Well I decided to build my own.
I am making the templates as I go and like I said I am learning all the animatronic bits each day as I work on it.
I am using white garbage bins for the main material, easy to cut and you can glue it and screw it.
I am using light wood for the main base/body
Air Craft cable, springs, hinges and anything else I can find.
For the control part I am using EZ ROBOT, I have also bought a few extra servos.

I made the head out of card first just to get it right before cutting up the bins.
The first head was too small, I liked it but I really wanted to put blinking eyelids in so I needed to make the head bigger, then the head was too big and the whole dragon would of been around 5 feet which is too big. so I ended up cutting the nose shorter and now with the stumpy nose it looks more like a big baby dragon which is perfect.
Here is what I have so far. I am going to redo the wings as they bend down to much.

Comments and suggestions welcome as always.
20130829_104020.jpg20130906_084659.jpg20130909_114011.jpg20130909_114017.jpg20130909_114050.jpg20130906_085249.jpg20130906_092952.jpg20130906_093023.jpg20130829_104031.jpg20130829_104038.jpg20130829_104125.jpg20130904_070450.jpg20130905_123307.jpg20130906_084357.jpg

Last edited:
Re: Animatronic Dragon. Pic heavy.