Recreating Prometheus Life Pod Display Panel in Micro Scale

zyote

Hello.

I just started getting into prop building a month or so ago after the purchase of 2 original props from the movie. A Prometheus Ampule, and a very larger and heavy Life Pod Display Panel. (has a 26” LCD screen in it!)

1.jpg

Anyway, I have zero experience making props, never built anything, or know how to even drill straight holes, i went about learning a few basics to get started on a small scale version of this big panel. I figured if i mentally took the big panel apart. i could tackle each problem a lot easier. I decided to use base my scale off of an iPhone/iPod Touch screen. As i figured that’s how the graphics would most easily be displayed.

1. Made some measurements off the large panel, and worked it up into multiple pieces in Illustrator. I would be sending these files off to a local laser cutting place to be cut into white acrylic. I was told by a friend who works on films, that these sort of panels are typically made this way, i.e. laser cut and sandwiched together. He also suggested acrylic as a good medium to use. rather than wood.

Here are the various pieces i drew up:

1a.jpg1b.jpg

I had 4 different Acrylic thicknesses available to me, so i just picked a few as starting points. my depth measurements haven’t been too accurate yet, as i’m still trying to figure out how it all fits together, and covers over the iPhone’s bulk. In fact i had to extend the height of the panel a little more than the original in order to cover the top piece fully. Perhaps one day i can figure out how to do this sort of thing with off-the-shelf LCD displays. But that would involve a lot of lessons in electronics.

A few days later i received my laser cut pieces in the mail, i weeded off the excess backing sheet to better show the parts:

2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg