My HAL 9000 Panel Build

RWoerz

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hi all, I'm starting a HAL 9000 panel build. Thanks to the many great threads posted here and others I've convinced myself it was possible to build a convincing replica. I just picked up a Nikkor fish eye 8mm f8 Lens and a Moebius kit (mostly for size and inspiration). Since I'm a newbie to this genre I hope you'll excuse a dumb question from time to time.

So where to begin. First off I'm convinced to get the consistent fitment seen on screen of the HAL 9000 panel would require a outside perimeter lip. As seen on Peter Jackson's prototype. As I have zero street creds in this new genre I'd like to enlist some help. I see that Adam Savage chimes in from time to time and I'm sure people in the industry do to. Rather than guess might there be a way to convenes Peter to have one of his people to do a forensic analysis of his panel. Lots of pictures and measurements. A guy can dream can't he. After all this is why we're all here, right? Any ideas on how to use the very cool view finder lens?

1z0bW20IwcCEkFI6JdSH977nMUg-3b9FlutzxtXTIDrkLzGXHqg.jpg
Second if some of the great pictures are to believed it looks to have a chamfer along the top edge. What the angle is, is something I have to work out. To look correct it would have to go around the entire perimeter.
15cdeMWtWscHvVQwAG5aALakvhNtx0-lpNulQ00aVsBPKcWJ37A.jpg

Chris-Gampat-The-Phoblographer-Hal-9000-story-2-1536x1025.jpg

20240124_145946 (1).jpg

Attachments

• 6464.jpg
    6464.jpg
    258.4 KB · Views: 32
Quite the project; 3Dsf has made one that's very close to the original one (including a real Nikkor). There's a long thread on the subject (your research button is your friend). Adam Johnson's book "2001 - The Lost Science" is also a must: it has all the measurement you'll need for your project.

Hello, and welcome!