The Rock VX Gas String of Pearls / Propstore legitimacy

ross1978

Hi lovely people

I recently acquired from Propstore a string of VX Gas pearls as used in The Rock.

I am pretty new to collecting and have a handful of items, but I would be really grateful for a more experienced opinion on the legitimacy of things like this, and this item in particular.

The auction was pretty clear, these are the ones used in the film. However the photographs I have seen of what appears to be the original prop (see this thread VX gas rounds build update.... still hate soldering) show an item which looks more like what I would expect.

My purchase looks almost brand new, in fact looks more like one of the replicas I have seen on here! The copper wire and solder joints are shiny, the plastic bits look new and the balls themselves are all full. Pretty much all the previous auction lots I have seen for the same items have lost their goopy green filling.

I guess my question is, what is the value of a Propstore COA? Are we safe to just take their word that they have done their research and take it as read that they are correct?

My concerns stem from another Propstore auction purchase (a Walter White costume from Breaking Bad). The auction pictures show the clothes in use on screen, however 5 mins of research by me is all it took to show that the jacket I purchased, is not the one on screen. Who's to say that a previous owner has not kept the original jacket and consigned to Propstore a brand new but identical jacket?

What are peoples' thoughts on their authentication process? What do people think of the legitimacy of these lovely green balls?

If I am questioning Propstore's COAs, what's the point?

Attachments

• 20211129_152757856_iOS.jpg
    20211129_152757856_iOS.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 197
  • 20211129_152831387_iOS.jpg
    20211129_152831387_iOS.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 261
  • 20211129_152841083_iOS.jpg
    20211129_152841083_iOS.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 193