2013 Man of Steel Costume

mkwelshie

Hi Everyone,

I'm currently making attempts to make a man of steel replica costume ready for Halloween this year. I'd like to say this is my first attempt at recreating a costume. i've made attempts before but they weren't that impressive. So this is what i have so far:

The first thing i bought was an adults full length wetsuit i then printed off a template for the new symbol. I drew an outline for it with chaulk directly onto the suit.

To make the shape 3D i used a hot glue gun to make it. It took a while but its a good first attempt. i used the same technique for the "belt" and "buckle" shape as well due to the fact the new suit doesn't really have either

The second photo is what they look like after they have been sprayed with gold spray i bought from a car supplier.

As i said its my first attempt so please, be gentle

Last edited:
Thanks very much. very much appreciated. the next part is colouring the suit to blue and adding the detail. i've managed to find some good leather replica PVC which i'll be sticking on after colouring but i'm still trying to work out a way of adding the texture to the whole suit. Not sure whether an iron on transfer printed from home would work but was hoping someone would be able to point me in the right direction on here?

Hmmm, if you wanted to add the texture, I think you would've been better off getting a pattern (search for Sonjou) and dye subbing it, because then you would have a guide to add the raised detail. For achieving the raised detail, it would probably be safe to say that puff painting would be the best option, like the TASM suits, which would give it a 3D design, and make it look more rubbery, like your profile pic. I don't know your budget (My advised option would probs be $250-300), or if you were willing to restart or not, so I'll be watching this thread to see what you end up doing. Anyway, great job for a first build, and good luck! :thumbsup