Steampunk Portal Gun

PrimoOptimoso

Sr Member
... or, the Aperture Mechanical Works Personal Porthole Device.

Hi guys - I'm a newbie here and am a strict amateur when it comes to builds - mostly I am lucky if something can be worn twice since I use a lot of cheap or found materials and just kind of hack it all together.

Anyways, long story short - My fiancee wanted to be Chell from the videogame Portal at PlayOn Con 4 last weekend in Birmingham. I asked her if we could do it steampunk, since Chell has been done to death at cons... not that steampunk hasn't, but it is my very favorite aesthetic and I had never built anything steampunk before.

The following posts will detail out the build of the gun (and boots somewhat) - the con is done but we got so much attention I wanted to put it online. UPDATED with finished shots further down the thread!

On to the build...

Last edited:
It all started with two things: 1. Volpin Props, who created the definitive real-world version of the original Portal Gun (seriously, look it up) and unwittingly provided me the inspiration and a couple technique tips, and 2. A picture of a side view of the game's Portal Gun, created by one Rusty100, whom I do not know.
I used Visio to blow up the pic to 1:1 (using one measurement from Volpin as a known quantity... remember kids, 4" PVC has an outer diameter of 4.5"!) and went from there, drawing on a few of my steampunky changes and such.
DSC04375.jpg

Starting to size up the PVC...
DSC04374.jpg

Cut the PVC to length by hand with a hacksaw, and started planning the other cuts...
DSC04384.jpg

Test-fitting the barrel and the body... I used foamcore to create the spacers holding them in relative location to each other.
DSC04386.jpg

Last edited:
Got the PVC all cut - the Dremel is the no-workshop-man's best friend.
DSC04411.jpg

One of the tips I got from reading Volpin's build? Florist's foam is awesome to work with. Just glue it up into a block and attack it with a knife.
DSC04387.jpg