Advice needed on painting blood onto evil dead chainsaw

edmunds62

I'm totally new to this and my first project will be the Ash's chainsaw from Evil Dead 2. I would really appreciate some pointers on how to achieve the Clotted/Dried blood look? Also what paint product is best used to achieve this desired effect?

Thanks

model painters tend to use tamiya clear red with a little black in the mix, I've also heard of mixing it with a little glue for the clots and even a bit of hair thrown in, some use a gloss clear coat other don't bother, theatrical blood does'nt tent to look so good dried as it can gel and sometimes lightens as it dries

I've also heard what Pobbrett has mentioned, there are a few people on here that have done these might be worth asking them to see how they did it, or hopefully they will see this thread and chime in, I'd be interested how you do it and please post pics, as I'm yet to start my chainsaw also :):thumbsup

Hot glue is your friend!

It makes a realistic "clotted" effect and can be glooped on then with wet fingers be "molded" into all kinds of craziness.

Error did her Red Sonja gore that way. Check out Posts #82 and #84 on that thread.

I actually get done good results from theatrical halloween blood.
The trick is to mix in some black paint... And then it must have a clear coat to give it a wet gloss look.

Here is a machete I did. This was done 4 years ago and still looks wet ;)
image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

What I did was take red theater blood and splattered it on for the lightest layer of blood.
I then took more blood and mixed in some black paint. I then splattered that on.
I then took that blood/black paint mixture and mixed in dry OATMEAL, some dirt and grass and human hair.
I then caked that mixture along the blade edge and random spots. The oatmeal really give a good clot look and maybe brain matter.