Steel and paint - will it rust?

Sluis Van Shipyards

Legendary Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I need some thing (1/16") thick pieces on my build so I'm going to use some steel sheet. Can I use regular steel (not galvanized) and prime/paint it or would it still rust? I would think the paint would seal it.

Yes. Automotive paint is best. No guarantees on rust forever, but as long as there are no scratches or inclusions in the paint you should be good.
How are you planning on attaching the steel the steel to your build? You also can us aluminium, which is more corrosion resistant and lighter as well.

TazMan2000

I'm not an expert, but if I was doing, this would be my approach. After properly prepping it (remove any corrosion/oxidation) and cleaning it I'd prime with metal etch spray paint. Then I'd go over that with an epoxy enamel spray paint - very durable stuff. Clear coat if you want to.

I'm using aluminum for most, but I need something magnets will attach to, and the area is too thin to embed magnets for a magnet to magnet attachment. So I figured steel would work best. I posted this the other night not even thinking to call my dad. He did custom paint jobs for his Corvettes before I was born so it would be a no brainer. He also said automotive primer, or he said there are separate metal sealers designed to go on before primer/paint.

You need to use an etch primer, which can be found at automotive aftermarket stores. If you just put paint over bare metal, it will scratch off, very easily. The
etch primer, "bites" into the bare metal, than gives your primer, and/or paint something to stick to. Epoxy paints are the best solution, but money, equipment, and
proper preparation are needed. Etch primers in the spray can work pretty good. They are recommended for touching up small area's on vehicle's
but they can be used for prop builds as well, and work fine. you just need to make sure that all rust is removed, and cleaned with a metal prep, or