1987 RoboCop - First foam costume build!

Cyberdragon

Hi guys, so I thought I'd make a build thread to keep track of this project as I work on it over the summer and so I'm not intruding on other people's threads. I'm currently studying Character Creation and SFX at Hertfordshire university where I've  just finished my first year and I am building '87 RoboCop as my first costume for October's MCM Expo in London.

Making anything out of EVA foam, let alone an entire costume is completely new to me so I'll be learning as I go, I'll be using Laellee's Pepakura files for my templates. I also face the challenge of working out how to taylor the thing to fit me, as I am a 5ft3 female - the complete opposite to Peter Weller, Haha! I've already been given some advice on other threads so I think this will be a fun project to keep me occupied over the summer! :)

Step 1: The gun:
Seeing as I'm from the UK, finding an airsoft replica of the Auto-9 was pretty much impossible for me to do, so I started looking at toy guns and found one that looked very close: S.W.A.T Academy Spy Gun: Amazon.co.uk: Toys & Games So I bought this for about £4 (I see the price has gone up since then, personally I wouldn't buy it for the £8.99 they're asking now) however it's too small. Looks fine in my (small) hands now, but when I make the gloves for RoboCop - it'll look tiny!

Instead, I ended up buying an electric Screwdriver for £20 and some thick card to make the gun from. Thought it would be fun to make a flash burst on the end of the gun that spins when pressing the button on the screwdriver,  something to add a little uniqueness to the prop rather than having a static gun!
This is my source of inspiration: Cardboard RoboCop Cosplay - YouTube