[WIP] First ever build, locket from the illusionist!

zerohero

Hiya guys,

Let me just pretext this by saying that this is my first project, ever! So please don't expect anything amazing. Ever since I saw the film the illusionist I fell in love with the concept of the locket. After shopping around I found that the only ones that functioned and where built out of the materials I like were waay out of my price-range, and so this is why my project began!

I have to say thus far is has been a huge learning experience, and a great excuse to buy a few cheap tools too. I know that my work is not as clean as it should be, and I have made ALOT of mistakes so far. I am defiantly going to re-visit the project in the near future with better tools and the knowledge I have acquired

Tools used -

IMAG0271.jpg

The build -

I created a 2d reference to print out and work from, I ended up laminating this piece of paper so I could re-use the same template.

IMAG0183.jpg

The two pieces ready to be used as a template to cut from -

IMAG0185.jpg

This piece of cylindrical tube will be used to for the locket to pivot around, a nail will be placed in the centre at a fixed point.

IMAG0192.jpg

The wood arrived, my first huge mistake!. Since I didn't want the locket to be too bulky I went on eBay and bought the thinnest wood I could find, 1.5mm untreated teak. Little did I know that teak is naturally very oily and would not stick very well without 'cleaning' first, so my first job was to wash the pieces I needed in 70% alcohol, that did the trick.

IMAG0226.jpg

The laminated template in action

IMAG0234.jpg

Two 'body' pieces side be side. These are made up of 3 1.5mm sheets of my teak which I used gorilla glue to bond together. That stuff is strong, also leaves a nice finish on teak.. that was unexpected.

IMAG0239.jpg