Macross and Robotech model kits

Guys, this is so wonderful :cry

Thanks for sharing !!!

Ghadrak, what does "Salzo" mean ?! You don´t want to tell me that Mike made a kit of the Destroid Monster ?!

Yessir, the one and only, MSLZ ( He's also a Macross fan, he once considered a 2500 scale SDF-1, I regularly lament that he chose not to go there....yet) Every once in a while we get the man to ourselves for a little something special. In fact, if you are interested, you really should join that forum, he's reporting that he's got the bug again and is revisting the Monster kit, adding detail and maybe going to do a little run. Seriously, this thing is as big as a dog, there are some funny pics of people wearing the front half of the main body as a hat, it's huuuuge.

Edit- on the subject of paint removal, I'm no expert, but Enamel that's been on a styrene kit for 15/20 years is going to be tough to remove, the plastic will likely have become more birttle over time and harsh chemicals may melt your kit. if you aren't planning to go with a drastically different and lighter color scheme you may be better off sanding the old pain job, using it as a basecoat and re-scribing any pane lines that are caked in goo.

I'm not going to knock them, but those old kits are going to cost more than they are likley worth unless you are looking for collectibles. Hasegawa and Bandai have been re-releasing their old kits for the past few years, you can likley find newer, better models that are better builds for less money. Of course if you are looking for enemy mecha, you are gonna have to go old school, because they haven't got much love in recent years.

Last edited:
Guys, this is so wonderful :cry

Thanks for sharing !!!

Ghadrak, what does "Salzo" mean ?! You don´t want to tell me that Mike made a kit of the Destroid Monster ?!

1670-destroid-monster-72nd-scale-salzo-v1.jpg