JonKross' 2014 Jan-Feb Sculpture Contest Entry

JonKross

Hey guys! Jumping in a bit late for the challenge but it's things like this that gives me a chance to sculpt! I got into sculpting a couple years ago and although I don't have have a lot of experience, I love it. I'm a gas technician by day, and luckily it's a slow month. :thumbsup

So, last night I started a few sketches, decided I should have time to do a 1:1 head sculpt. I'm using Monster Clay, which most people know the great thing about it is that you can throw it in the oven to soften it up over and over again, than harden on ya.

My tools are just ones I've picked up at the local art store, and i'll be slapping it on a piece of gas pipe screwed down to a kitchen counter top piece that I bought at lowe's for about ten bucks all together.

my sketch is a simple one in which I plan to add onto later in the sculpt, just wanted an idea to go on.

I've got more time tonight and tomorrow, so hopefully I can get some photos up of the rough sketch. I look forward to seeing more sculptures, so far everyones are looking awesome! Lets get some sculpting done!

Attachments

• rpfChallenge.jpg
    rpfChallenge.jpg
    154.7 KB · Views: 145
  • workarea.JPG
    workarea.JPG
    161.5 KB · Views: 171
day2.JPG
Got a good base down, I ended up chipping away more than I wanted, so I gotta get back in and add more clay.!
I'm liking where it's going, not sure if i'll add horns or not, I do want to do a cool head piece…just not sure what yet. lol

This is the second head bust I've done. my first was an old man I did two summers ago, and last halloween I tried a face prosthetic which the finished product wasn't a real success.

back to sculpting!
I'll add another pic in the next couple of days if I get further.

Good start, just keep an eye on the skull shapes and how far things like the zygomatic bone protrude in your reference. Keep going :)

It looks like you have a good start!

I hope you don't mind a quick observation.