holocron 3d printed ?

I've never seen one. The only one that was sold on here was etched marble I think. I could be wrong. I thought it would be neat if we had someone who could laser etch glass or acrylic and make a kit.

I'm new to the RPF but our shop could model and print a holocron if there were enough interests in castings from the mould?

it's been on my mind seeing as how I've got the laser cutter and the 3d printing/modeling stuff going on.

Shapeways? They are cheap and they have a new(?) material called "White & strong POLISHED" which I suposse won't have the rough texture the plain one has.

Since this is beyond my capabilities I hope we can find a member of our board who is able to do this. Lol did I mention i need a holocron specifically a sith one.........a cheap one at that.

I did one with laser cutting and an etching machine.

3D printing isn't and wouldn't be cheap. I laser cut the 3 gold facing panels and had a computer controlled etching machine do the intricate design work. I could've done that on the laser as well, but i knew someone with access to the other machine, so i got it for free :)

If someone wants to try this - i've got the CAD files.

I did one with laser cutting and an etching machine.

That's what I'm talking about. For the people that could do the construction, just having the panels etched would be great. That's the biggest hurdle. I could probably scribe them myself, but well that would be a huge PITA. :lol

It'd be great if cboath could post a pic of his holocron. A laser etched one would be pretty awesome.

I'll send you the files i've got when I get home tonight.

How i missed this thread being updated yesterday is beyond me, so sorry for the delay.