Casting a sculpture - complete newbie

Yeahhtrue

Hi guys,

So I'm one of the million people working on a 'Baby Yoda' right now. I'm completely new to sculpting, casting, etc. Initially I just planned on just doing a sculpture and leaving it at that, but the more I think about it, the more I realize the sculpture will probably be fragile (especially the ears) and it'd be difficult to carry around with me anywhere without breaking it. So I want to make a mold and then cast it with silicone or latex or something along those lines. I've been reading up and finding so many different products and methods, so I was hoping to be pointed in the right direction by people who do this kind of stuff all the time. What would you recommend for someone doing this for the first time, in terms of method of creating the mold, casting material, etc. Thanks so much! Picture attached of the head (still a WIP), there will also be hands and feet, and the body will be foam.

FbcAHD2.jpg

Hi
¿Have you ever made a mold?
In first instance the material used for a starter would be plaster. There are different hardness, if you want your mold to last a number of castings stone plaster (UC30 for example) could be the choice.
There are other materials like resins+fiberglass and PU resins. But if it´s your first mold I´d go for plaster.
Another reason for choosing a material is the material used for the casting. If it´s latex, plaster will always be the best choice as it´s porous, and the best one for that would be Hydrocal or similar. Others would do to.
If you want to cast silicones, plaster will do (but never after having casted latex in it, latex inhibits silicone and there would be residue in the plaster). Other choices suit silicone too, but careful with inhibitions. Some resins will need postcuring.