So, I got to work with actors from Trek, Firefly, STroopers, BSG and Dark Angel...

JOATRASH FX

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
As many of you know, I'm a video games producer. Well, last year I began producing a space strategy game being made out of Poland by a small team of developers. (I kinda ended co-writing some of the screenplay too.)

I've been sooooo wanting to share this with y'all for almost a YEAR now.

One of the things I was in charge of was making the story come together (choosing a writer, establishing the tone, the cast.. basically championing things) I knew I wanted some well-known SciFi stalwarts in there and that I also mainly wanted actors that DON'T do a lot of games, because I wanted the tone to be "serious" and deadpan, like a typical NASA mission broadcast, without a lot of "gamey melodrama". Well... we ended up casting Dina Meyer, Ron Glass, John Billingsley, Richard Gunn, Dwight Schultz and Aaron Douglas. They were all super-nice and great to work with. I told Dwight he was a childhood hero (I mean c'mon.. Howlin' Mad Murdock!) and he seemed genuinely moved. The man's a freakin' master with his vocal cords too and was the only one in the cast that had a lot of experience with doing games. Aaron D and Richard were really cool, doing nice raspy and deadpan military voices. Both Ron G and John B laughed at the tiny Firefly and Enterprise easter-eggs I snuck into the script. Oh, and Dina Meyer's voice is just... mesmerizing.

We actually recorded all the dialog last year and I was on-hand in L.A. to oversee the process but the game (called Ancient Space) has been under top-secret wraps until today.

It's not the first time I've worked with actors since I've been doing this for... well a whole bunch of years... but it never gets dull having some of your heroes act out stuff you've been involved with writing. I know we're supposed to act "professional" and all and I DO curtail any rabid fanboy tendencies but I can't hide ALL my enthusiasm.