help with New 52 style Martian Manhunter costume.

DrSasquatch

Hello all, I'm looking to do a Martian Manhunter suit for my local comicon this year and I need some help sourcing a good mask to start with. Color is not a huge issue because I plan on airbrushing the whole thing anyway, I just have very little skill when it comes to sculpting. As a base I was planning on using a Rubies Abin Sur mask from the GL movie with a few modifications Dlx Abin Sur Overhead Latex Mask I'm hoping that when all is said and done it will look a bit like a live action movie version of the character. For reference I'm planning on using this wonderful art by nebezial from Deviant Art martian manhunter...i just love that name by nebezial on deviantART

I'm pretty new to the whole costuming thing as well so any tips on how to accomplish my plan would be greatly appreciated.

I agree with JJGarza. The shape is a little off, as well as it being a Rubies mask, which means it won't look anything like that lol.

Are you looking for quality or budget building??

I just have very little skill when it comes to sculpting.

Its just a lot of trial and error but eventually you'll get the hang of it. Also the design your basing this off of is amazing I'm a big fan of nebezials work, But the mask design isn't super complicated, just look up some tutorials for sculpting on YouTube that's what I did when I started. Hope this helps.

I agree with JJGarza. The shape is a little off, as well as it being a Rubies mask, which means it won't look anything like that lol.

Are you looking for quality or budget building??

I'm really looking for quality honestly, my budget isn't huge by any means but I could afford a good mask, if I could find something closer.

Monster Clay is a good medium to sculpt with. The more time you put into it the better it gets.