Millenium Falcon Lighting Instructions

tek2graphics

Sr Member
Hello all! I'm in the process of finishing most of the plastic parts for my FM 1:72 Falcon, and i'd like to see if I can light it up. I have NO experience with this and just wanted to know if anybody had suggestions/diagrams that would be helpful. :confused

I know there are lighting kits out there, but I can't afford to get them
. Besides, I would LOVE to learn for future models.

I already purchased LEDs in different colors/sizes and I have small wire, fiber optics, soldering wire/iron and mag glass. All I really want to do is have the BASICS lit up: Lights in mandibles, back engine fully lit, then maybe have separate switch for landing gear lights & minimal lights in the cockpit. Not sure if I should go with batteries behind cockpit or electric? (… kinda scared about electric). I've already seen soldering instruction videos and other people lighting their kits.. but again if I can see a picture of how the wiring should be laid out, that would be great!
Thanks in advanced!:thumbsup

I have lit my 1/72 FineMolds Falcon.

The First step is to decide on what power source you are going to use, This will determine the size of resistors to use, you should use resistors they will protect your leds Click here to work out size of resistor. I used a 12VDC power supply I couldn't be bothered with seperating the hulls to change batteries.

Resistors get soldered onto positive cathode which are the longer one of the two and is best to wire the leds in parallel this way you dont have to solder a resistor to every led in the group. Once you have all your groups of leds (wired up in parrallel) you can then wire the groups together.

Regarding the Falcons engines, you should make a lightbox and then work out how many leds it will require, you can make the lightbox out of styrene and line the inside with tin foil.
I use white glue to fix the Fibre Optic to the model.

Hope this helps