Can Video Game files be ripped from a Game and be Used for CNC machining?

Popeanator

Popeanator here,

I've seen people talking on the forums about ripping files for using with pepakura, however I was wondering if they same idea can be applied to CNC/3D printing models. So can Video Game files be ripped from a Game and be Used for CNC machining?
:behave

I'm pretty new to any form of 3D modeling, I have barely used pepakura I prefer to make things by hand.

However a friend of mine is planing on building his own CNC machine and we are keen to attempt to create some props with it. Any information would be awesome, thanks guys.I basically had this process in mind one the thing has been machined.

When My Brain Leaks, the Drops Drip Here.: Propbuilding 101 Part 2: CNC Machining the M9 Tempest Submachine Gun from Mass Effect 2

Any 3D model can be used for any 3D application. The only thing that varies is the amount of work in between the source and the machine.

Of course you can, but chances are some files will have to be altered. Even though games and game systems are getting better, 3d models for games are not as detailed as a 3d model for a movie.

Remember, 1 frame of Pixar cars could take up to 24 hours to render 1 frame, while video games have to render in real time, the second you move a hand, or begin walking, each frame is rendered instantly.

So sometimes on video game files, you are allowed to cheat a bit. So make sure the mesh is closed off where it needs to be, alter what you have to if you have to.

Now as far as ripping those files from a game, I have no idea how to do it. I am curious to know if there is a forum where people do that and then make them public.

Now as far as ripping those files from a game, I have no idea how to do it. I am curious to know if there is a forum where people do that and then make them public.
There are places that will walk you through the process, certain game engines are easier than others.