wolfesamk

Hey everyone. First time posting here on the RPF.
Bit of an Autobiography here. Did some Mandalorian cosplay back around when Disney bought Star wars, started before and ended a bit after. I really enjoyed the craft and made several full kits for myself and my wife. I am looking to expand my horizons however and work with new materials and new settings. As you can see by the title, my current plan is to create a Warhammer 40K Blood Angel cosplay.

I have been mapping things out and collating ideas for about two years now and have decided to start working on this project. Initially I wanted to do a Chaplain, but decided it would be a bit niche and possibly easy to mistake for other Chapter Chaplains. Granted I might do it in the future but for my first time venturing into 40K cosplay I figured it would be best to stick with something a touch easier than the bone armor of a Chaplain. After that I settled on doing a Jump Assault Firstborn. Then Games Workshop released the Primaris version recently. So I was torn for a while on which version to do. Then my brother and wife both, rightfully, said Primaris are here to stay while Firstborn are going the way of the dodo bird. After that I have settled on Primaris Jump Assault. My next question is where I am currently stuck.

At what scale do I build the cosplay? I have seen a number of amazing full scale Space Marine cosplays and that is honestly what I would love to shoot for but I have a few requirements on this project.
  1. Long term care for the costume needs to be easier than my previous outfits. Everything I made was much more custom and hard to put on or off or difficult to repair.
  2. Interactions are key. Cosplay needs to be as easy to interact with people as my Mandalorian outfits.
    1. Hands, head, etc, need to be moveable.
  3. If built to scale, proportions need to look "visually" correct.