The Iron Man Project (Mark IV) Launch

ni7ewing

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to both the forums and building with pepakura, so please be gentle with me. you may have seen a posting very similar to this before but I was recently informed I was in the wrong forum when i first posted, so I'm moving everything over here.

That being said, I'd love any feedback I can get because I'd hate to be making mistakes that could obviously be avoided with the experience of others.

I started this project by trying to build a replica Mark IV Arc Reactor by accident.

I had some LED’s lying around and so many spare parts from radio’s and vcr’s that I always joked some day I’d build a robot. The idea turned from joke to personal challenge after a while, and one day I realized…….I have never taken been so obsessed by any one hobby that it became all encompassing. Another way to say that I suppose is that I’ve also never cared about anything enough to see it through.

So I’m setting the long term goal of my Iron Man Mark IV armour being prepared for presentation on Halloween 2013.

I’m trying to hold myself accountable, documenting the process here.

I've started the build by jumping right into the helmet. Sadly at this point I'm guessing it's one of the more complicated pieces to build outside of maybe the hands.

I've sized it according to what seemed to be the combined knowledge I could gain from a few different tutorials online. Printed on 110lb cardstock and have been cutting and gluing for a few days now.

I say a few days because between work, a toddler, and running a house, I don't have a lot of personal time.

I've already noticed a few tiny 'problems' that I'm a little concerned about. Mostly the teeny tiny pieces at joints that are somehow supposed to connect.

I'm also afraid that the helmet is a little too big, but can admit that it's not fully together yet so hopefully it'll come together.