Release Agent for WED Clay

Scream 31

I'm pretty new to sculpting and mask making (about 5 months,) and everything has been going great - except for the molding process. For the life of me, I cannot figure out a consistent way to release my WED sculpture from the mold. This has led to at least 6 or 7 destroyed sculptures. I've browsed around the internet, including this forum, and I see suggestions for mold releases in general, but nothing that is necessarily made for WED clay. The products I'm using are WED Clay, USG No.1 Plaster, and I typically use Pledge as a sealant. Any straightforward advice would be an immense help. Thank you!

A couple of things to use.
1. paint your sculpture. I use Krylon spraypaint. No use in using clear, just because it's clear, and you can't see it, doesn't make it better. In fact, since you can't see it, it is hard to see where you have missed an area, or where you painted it heavily. Do not use a gloss paint. The "wetting" agents in the paint will make it more prone to fisheye. Use a semi-gloss / satin paint ( white, black just as long as it isn't gloss) If you really want to be cruel to yourself, use silver. This will show every finger print, tool mark and bump.

Side note: You can paint clay with gloss paint, you just should put down a primer first, this will help reduce the chance of the paint fisheying. On many occasions, I have needed to have a very smooth surface on a clay sculpt (A 1/3rd scale Ford Focus car body, as one example) In this case, we have let the WED clay get "leathery" then painted it with Krylon primer, then a couple of coats of Krylon gloss paint. Letting it dry well between coats. Then, with a little talc and a soft cloth, we buffed the sculpture gently by hand, to smooth the sculpture and remove any tool scratched before molding.