Is there a market for concept props?

FLM Concepts

I have a few designs, and many more to come, that I'd like to make, if only for myself. Some of them are inspired by Star Trek, and some of them are completely original, or inspired by designs that I've seen in various analog RPGs and movies.

Is there a market for props that are not exact replicas of existing and well-known items?

I'm a beginner when it actually comes to building physical props, but I have plenty of 3d modeling experience and some pretty killer tools at my disposal.

My goal in life is to create props for low-budget (not no-budget) productions, but I'd also like to be able to provide unique designs to sci-fi fans at reasonable cost.

My husband is a sign designer by his very existence, but he would be equally happy designing and building props for a living. He has way more experience building real props.

I've seen some cool builds on the RPF of original stuff, and while they're interesting builds I enjoy reading the process... I don't think many people want to buy stuff that isn't from the Movies, TV Shows, Games, Universes, etc that they love.

The exception would be someone like Bill Doran of Punished Props and his recently successful Kickstarter. It's a completely original Space Gun - but I'm sure people are buying that because they follow and respect Bill's work, not simply because it's original stuff.

Sent from my Nexus 4