How to make Vinyl Masks and PVC type masks?

jokemaestro

Hello there,

I'm new to mask making, and so far I've learned how to use 2 different types of materials for mask making; Polyurethane Resin being one, and Latex being the other. But I've seen masks out there that say they're made of Vinyl and then I've seen others say they're made of soft PVC, like ghostface masks for example since that's a popular one.

So my question is, what is the process to make a Vinyl mask, and what is the process to create a soft PVC mask so that I can more tools to my belt in terms of what materials I can learn to use, what types of molds they work best with, etc.

Any information is appreciated, thank you!

Well, I don't have any first-hand experience -- but I did search on YouTube and I found these …

Custom Made Model Decals, Stencils, & Masks with the Silhouette Cameo Cutter

The Cricut CHANGED MY LIFE - Make your own Paint Masks!

Those seemed helpful. Lots of other videos there as well, but these were among the top of the results I found. I hope it is helpful for you. If you take the plunge, I know I'd love to hear about your experience. This subject is appealing to me. As I say, I've never tried to make vinyl masks, But I am interested -- I do have almost 30 years experience with Adobe Illustrator, which makes this idea pretty enticing.

SSB

Yeah I saw those videos as well but they seem to be about making labels using the cricut. I'm curious about how how they've made masks similar to ghostface masks for example. Theyve been making those for over 30 years without cricuts so theres gotta be an actual method to their madness lol

Mostly injection molded if you're looking to do PVC and Vinyl, which I wouldn't recommend as the fumes from them when heated are quite toxic.

Mostly injection molded if you're looking to do PVC and Vinyl, which I wouldn't recommend as the fumes from them when heated are quite toxic.